The Standards

The Standards are the road map you will need to follow as you work to obtain or maintain recognition in the  American Tree Farm System. North Carolina woodland owners with 10 to 10,000 contiguous acres of forested land may qualify for certification into the N.C. Tree Farm Program if they meet ownership requirements and have a written forest management plan that includes the following information:

  • landowner objectives
  • forest condition and health
  • management activities/prescriptions
  • tract map
  • soils and water resources
  • wood and fiber production
  • threatened and endangered species
  • special sites
  • invasive species
  • forests of recognized importance

Use the ATFS Management Plan Addendum to help you review your forest management plan, reflect on your stewardship objectives, assess the current condition and health of your woods, and ensure that your management plan meets the 2015-2020 Standards of Sustainability.

The 2015-2020 STANDARDS AND GUIDANCE provides detailed information about the requirements for certification.

Once you have a written forest management plan that meets all of the ATFS requirements, contact the N.C. Tree Farm Program to request a Tree Farm Inspection. We will assign a volunteer inspector to meet with you to review your management plan and walk your property. The inspector will submit an inspection report to the N.C. Tree Farm Program with a recommendation that your property be certified. Once that report is approved and entered into the national database, you will receive a Certified Tree Farm sign for your woods.

Webinar: An Overview of the 2015-2020 Standards and what it means for you.